Current Members

Daniel Amador-Noguez

Position title: Primary Investigator

Email: amadornoguez@wisc.edu

Research Focus: Metabolomics and metabolic regulation in biofuel producing bacteria, bacterial biofilms, and the human gut microbiome.

Dave Stevenson

Credentials: Northern Illinois University, Ph.D

Position title: Sr. Research Specialist, Lab Manager

Email: dmstevenson@wisc.edu

Research Focus: LCMS and HPLC method development and use

Melanie Callaghan

Credentials: Microbiology, Ph.D University of Wisconsin-Madison

Position title: Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: callaghan2@wisc.edu

Research focus: Thermodynamics of bacterial glycolysis and science visualization

Lauren Lucas

Credentials: Integrative Biology/ Plant and Microbial Biology, BA/BS, UC Berkeley

Position title: Ph.D Student

Email: llucas3@wisc.edu

Research Focus: I study bile acid metabolism by human gut microbes and lipid membrane composition in bacterial biofilms.

Daven Khana

Credentials: Microbiology/Genetics, BS, University of Georgia

Position title: Ph.D Student

Email: khana@wisc.edu

Research Focus: My projects focus on using quantitative metabolomics and proteomics data to identify bottlenecks in microbial pathways that generate valuable bioproducts.

Julio Rivera Vazquez

Credentials: Biology, BS, Texas A&M

Position title: Ph.D Student

Email: riveravazque@wisc.edu

Research Focus: I investigate the defense mechanisms of Z. mobilis, under a variety of stressors.

Lea Cattaneo

Credentials: Microbiology, BS, University of Michigan

Position title: Ph.D Student, co-advised with Dr. Federico Rey

Email: lcattaneo@wisc.edu

Research Focus: Investigating the metabolic interactions between bile acids and gut microbes and their effects on human health.

Fit Getahun

Credentials: Biology/History/Neuroscience, BS/BA, Grinnell College

Position title: Post-Bac Researcher

Email: getahun@wisc.edu

Research Focus: MEP Pathway optimizations for Zymomonas mobilis

Jack Williams

Credentials: Chemistry/Biochemistry, BA, Carleton College

Position title: Post-Bac Researcher

Email: jlwilliams28@wisc.edu

Research Focus: Engineering Z. Mobilis for biofuel production

Eashant Thusoo

Credentials: Molecular and Cellular Biology, Neuroscience, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, BA University of Colorado Boulder

Position title: Masters Student

Email: thusoo@wisc.edu

Bhavana Gangwar

Credentials: PhD Microbiology, CSIR-CIMAP/JNU New Delhi, India

Position title: Postdoc

Email: gangwar2@wisc.edu